Board of Directors

Posted on: March 9th, 2012 by admin No Comments

Mattie J.T. Stepanek Foundation

Board of Directors


The Board of Directors consists of 5 to 12 volunteers who choose to serve terms ranging from one to four years in length, with the option of renewing a term following completion. Each Board Member enthusiastically shares his or her “time, talent, and treasure” to support the mission of the Foundation — which is to spread Mattie’s message of hope and peace.


Learn more about our current Board by clicking on the entries below.


Jeni Stepanek, PhD
CEO & Chief Peace Officer


Cynda Rushton, PhD

Max Jones

Barry McConatha
Laura J. Bauer, MPA
Executive Director

Joe Palermino



Cynthia Dobbins
VP – Programming


Jamie D. Baker, MA



Jackie Zamora

Former Honorary Board Member

Micah the Peace Puppy
Mattie’s Service Dog




Former Members of the Board of Directors:

Robert Balkam (Founder & Vice President 2005-2010)
W. Thomas Curtis, EA, CFP (Founder & Treasurer 2005-2011)
Heather Dobbins, PhD (Interim Treasurer 2011-2012)
Omékongo Dibinga (Director 2011-2013)
Andrew Gordon (Director 2009; President 2010-2011)
Rich Gottfried (Treasurer 2012-2015)
Annie Kennedy (Director 2013-2016)
Marie Lê (Director 2011-2012)
Sandra Newcomb, PhD (Founder & Secretary 2005-2008)
Ann Y. Schmidt (President 2011-2014)
J. Stanley Schmidt (Executive Director 2006-2009)
Bridget Hart Shea, JD (Director 2010-2012)
Terrance Sheehan, MD (Founder & President 2005-2010)
Gail Sherman (Director 2011-2012)
Wendy Thompson (Director 2011-2014)
Janis Tripodakis (Director 2013-2014)


- =

Some members of the
Mattie J.T. Stepanek Foundation
2019 Board of Directors
L-R: Chris Dobbins (VP-Outreach), Cynthia Dobbins (VP-Programming),
Max Jones (Secretary), Joe Palermino (Treasurer), Jeni Stepanek (CEO/CPO),
Laura Bauer (Executive Director), Barry McConatha (Director),
Jamie Baker (Director) (with Baby #4 delivered 12 days later :) ),
Missing from team photo:
Cynda Rushton (President), Jackie Zamora (Director)

The Mattie J.T. Stepanek Foundation 2017 Board of Directors during
the annual Board meeting (this year, hosted by Fontina Grille).
L-R: Joe Palermino (Director), Laura Bauer (Vice President),
Cynda Rushton (President), Jeni Stepanek. (Executive Director),
Cynthia Dobbins (Director), Chris Dobbins (Treasurer),
Max Jones (Secretary), Jamie Baker (Director) 




Return to Mattie’s Foundation main page

March Spotlight

In-Kind Support

Celebrating our "in kind" sponsors and advocates -- who support Mattie's Foundation with services and materials. Thank you ezStorage, Montgomery Printing, Parcel Plus, and Potomac Valley Brick! Read more...

Nourishment Support

Celebrating our "nourishment" sponsors and advocates -- who support Mattie's Foundation with food and services. Thank you Botanero Restaurant, Fontina Grille, Safeway, Coffee Republic, and Red Hot & Blue! Read more...

Community Support

Celebrating our "community" sponsors and advocates -- who support Mattie's Foundation with commitment and participation. Thank you City of Rockville, King Farm Citizen's Assembly, Kick's Karate & Mix 107.3! Read more...

Champion Support

Celebrating our "Foundation Champions" -- sponsors and volunteers of all ages who support Mattie's Foundation through donations, brick sponsorships, participation in our activities and events. Thank you!!! Read more...

- Mattie J.T. Stepanek